English Faculty

Robert Erle Barham

Robert Erle Barham
Assistant Professor of English
On faculty since 2012

 

706.419.1628
robert.barham@covenant.edu

 


 

Cliff Foreman

Clifford W. Foreman
Professor of English
Moderator of the Faculty
On faculty since 1986

 

706.419.1634
cliff.foreman@covenant.edu

 


 

Sarah Huffines

Sarah L. Huffines
Associate Professor of English
Director of the Writing Center
On faculty since 2006

 

706.419.1662
sarah.huffines@covenant.edu

 


 

Gwen Macallister

Gwen W. Macallister
Associate Professor of English
On faculty since 2002

 

706.419.1547
gwen.macallister@covenant.edu

 


 

Pat Ralston

Patricia Ralston
Associate Professor of English
On faculty since 1992

 

706.419.1620
pat.ralston@covenant.edu

 


 

Nola Stephens

Nola Stephens
Associate Professor of Linguistics
On faculty since 2012

 

706.419.1617
706.820.2165 (Fax)
nola.stephens@covenant.edu

 


 

Bill Tate

William Tate
Professor of English
Department Chair
Dean of Arts and Letters
On faculty since 2007

 

706.419.1619
william.tate@covenant.edu

Dr. Stephens discusses the importance of language in Scripture and describes the excitement of studying linguistics as a believer.

Lydia Holt

"I really love the faculty in the English department. All the professors are wise and caring, and they do an excellent job of connecting the study of the English language to faith and calling. In addition, as an English major, there are so many opportunities for work and service that will open up for me because of the well-rounded and rigorous training I’m receiving in the various branches of English."
 - Lydia Holt '19

"If I had to pick one, I would say Dr. Barham. He is one of the kindest people I have ever met, and is also one of the smartest. While Dr. Barham is brilliant, he teaches in a way that makes you feel smart, like you are one of his peers. If you have not taken a class from him, I would highly recommend it."
 - English major Louis Metcalfe '18

Evan Lecksell

"I’m really interested in my Introduction to Literary Studies course. It is the first class I’ve had that actually got me excited about poetry, and if you have to have class at 8 a.m., Dr. Barham is the best professor to transition you from being asleep 5 minutes ago to being energized and excited about what you study. Dr. Barham’s love for literature is contagious, and you find yourself happily engaged in types of literature you never thought you would care about."
 - Evan Lecksell '19
Emmett reflects on the process of putting classroom learning into practice as he pursues a writing career.