Education Faculty

Amy Bagby
Associate Coordinator of Teacher Certification
On faculty since 2009

 

 

706.419.1409
amy.bagby@covenant.edu

 


 

Jack E. Beckman
Professor of Education
Department Chair
On faculty since 2004

 

706.419.1402
jack.beckman@covenant.edu

 


 

Rebecca J. Dodson
Associate Dean of the Graduate School of Education
On faculty since 1989

 

706.419.1406
rebecca.dodson@covenant.edu

 


 

Sarah E. Donaldson
Assistant Professor of Education
On faculty since 2012

 

706.419.1248
sarah.donaldson@covenant.edu

 


 

James L. Drexler
Dean of the Graduate School of Education
On faculty since 2004

 

706.419.1408
jim.drexler@covenant.edu

 


 

Daphne Wharton Haddad
Professor of Education
On faculty since 1996

 

706.419.1441
daphne.haddad@covenant.edu

 


 

Phillip B. Horton
Professor of Education
On faculty since 1998

 

706.419.1405
phil.horton@covenant.edu

 


 

Stephen R. Kaufmann
Professor of Education
Dean of Education and Social Sciences
On faculty since 1982

 

706.419.1410
steve.kaufmann@covenant.edu

 


 

Rebecca E. Pennington
Associate Professor of Education
Coordinator of Curriculum & Instruction
edTPA Coordinator for the Department of Education
On faculty since 2002

 

706.419.1415
rebecca.pennington@covenant.edu

 


 

Elaine Tinholt
Assistant Professor of Education
On faculty since 2009

 

706.419.1404
elaine.tinholt@covenant.edu

 


 

Bruce R. Young
Professor of Education
On faculty since 2004

 

706.419.1401
bruce.young@covenant.edu

The country with the largest Muslim population in the world is home to Covenant alumni who are passionate about Christian education.

"My favorite class so far has definitely been T.I.P.S. (Teaching In a Pluralistic Society)...It was such a hard semester enduring the readings, projects, and papers for that class, but through homework, the lectures, and the challenging discussions, I learned so much about how to be diversity-minded while teaching. Though the class is focused on educating children, the topics that were raised really encouraged me to broaden my worldview and place aside hidden biases within myself. "
 - interdisciplinary studies major Daniel Sluis '16
Jonathan describes Covenant's master of education program and what sets it apart.