Education Faculty

Amy Bagby

Amy Bagby
Associate Coordinator of Teacher Certification
On faculty since 2009

 

 

706.419.1409
amy.bagby@covenant.edu

 


 

Jack Beckman

Jack E. Beckman
Professor of Education
Department Chair
On faculty since 2004

 

706.419.1402
jack.beckman@covenant.edu

 


 

Rebecca Dodson

Rebecca J. Dodson
Associate Dean of the Graduate School of Education
On faculty since 1989

 

706.419.1406
rebecca.dodson@covenant.edu

 


 

Sarah Donaldson

Sarah E. Donaldson
Assistant Professor of Education
On faculty since 2012

 

706.419.1248
sarah.donaldson@covenant.edu

 


 

Jim Drexler

James L. Drexler
Dean of the Graduate School of Education
On faculty since 2004

 

706.419.1408
jim.drexler@covenant.edu

 


 

Daphne Haddad

Daphne Wharton Haddad
Professor of Education
On faculty since 1996

 

706.419.1441
daphne.haddad@covenant.edu

 


 

Phillip Horton

Phillip B. Horton
Professor of Education
On faculty since 1998

 

706.419.1405
phil.horton@covenant.edu

 


 

Steve Kaufmann

Stephen R. Kaufmann
Professor of Education
Dean of Education and Social Sciences
On faculty since 1982

 

706.419.1410
steve.kaufmann@covenant.edu

 


 

Rebecca Pennington

Rebecca E. Pennington
Professor of Education
Coordinator of Curriculum & Instruction
edTPA Coordinator for the Department of Education
On faculty since 2002

 

706.419.1415
rebecca.pennington@covenant.edu

 


 

Elaine Tinholt

Elaine Tinholt
Assistant Professor of Education
On faculty since 2009

 

706.419.1404
elaine.tinholt@covenant.edu

 


 

Bruce Young

Bruce R. Young
Professor of Education
On faculty since 2004

 

706.419.1401
bruce.young@covenant.edu

Reformed Christian College

Dr. Jim Drexler describes Covenant’s undergraduate education program, defined by its philosophy of training Christian teachers who demonstrate Christ’s preeminence in all things.

"I love being an elementary education major and having the close-knit community of elementary education majors. Covenant’s education department excels at providing opportunities for students to be in the classrooms throughout the entire degree program, even as early on as first semester of your freshman year in Intro to Teaching. I have really enjoyed spending time down at a school in Chattanooga this semester to give me hands-on experience to relate to what I am learning in my coursework."
 - education major Grace Ann Arnold '18

"The education department at Covenant College has really helped us prepare for teaching careers, and they provide us with many opportunities to work in classrooms along the way. I was able to work with a classroom as early as my freshman year. Being able to go into an elementary school classroom and utilize what we have learned in our classes has been extremely helpful for me to not only learn what I am studying, but also learn how to use it."
 - education major Mark Paczewski '16

The country with the largest Muslim population in the world is home to Covenant alumni who are passionate about Christian education.
Jonathan describes Covenant's master of education program and what sets it apart.